Mama’s Corner : What I read in the month of August

Summer is always a great time to read, and so is fall and winter and spring, but those season have happening during school and therefore are less free to have long periods of uninterrupted read as summer provides.

Over the month of August I tried to broaden the genre that I choose to read from. I don’t know about you but I like to read from what feels comfortable, in a way similar to a security blanket, and I often will stick to what I know instead of being adventurous and try something new.

books

I like to play it safe and I am not known to be a risk taker, purchase this is part of being an introvert. Taking the plunge in exploring reading material that I am unfamiliar with was a challenge but has also its rewards. Here is my attempt in categorizing what I read.

Non-Fiction:  I had the misconception that non-fiction were book that would read like a dry textbook, where you have information overload and very little emotions from the author. True, some will be like that, but I did read a few very interesting book in that category and enjoyed them.

  1. Blink: The power to think without thinking by Malcolm Gladwell
  2. H is for Hawk by Helen McDonald
  3. The Organized Mind: Thinking Strait In The Age Of Information Overload by Daniel J. Levitin
  4. Family Worship by Donald S. Whitney
  5. 16 ways to love your lover (don’t let the title fool you, it’s about personality and how to better communicate in form relationships. Only one chapter was dedicated to the intimacy aspect of understanding diffent typewatching) by Otto Kroger and Janet M. T
  6. Home Comfort: The Art and Science of Keeping House by  Cheryl Mendelson (this book is a must have for every home and perfect gift for any lady before she leaves her parents home)

Adult Fiction : This is a category I am very comfortable with but did stretch myself and choose a few theme I wasn’t too familiar with.

  1. Left Neglected by Lisa Genova (this was an interesting read and a must read for all of us busy mothers that often forget to real and appreciate the little things in life)
  2. Cassandra and Jane: A Jane Austen Novel by Jill Pitkeathley
  3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (interesting plot twist, and a book that will make you hate the main characters !)
  4. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (I could describe this as “Groundhog day” meets the “Time Travelers Wife”, intrigue yet?)
  5. Love Anthony by Lisa Genova
  6. L’Etranger By Albert Camus (Read in French)
  7. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie  (A book about cultural identity and how tricky it can be)
  8. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron
  9. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
  10. The 100 years old man who climbed out of the window and disappeared (possibly the longest book title ever!) by Jonas Jonasson
  11. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  12. Love in time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcias Marquez (in you are in the mood for a no so sappy love story)
  13. The first Man by Albert Camus (an unfinished work because the author died before finishing it. There is an undertone of spirituality and what is are the important things in life)
  14. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

New Adults : I think this is a category for a much younger audience than me. The hormones, the drama, the angst, the oversexualise literature isn’t my cup of tea but maybe I just haven’t found something to my taste yet.

  1. Paper Town by John Green (Hormonal teenagers is all I can say !)
  2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  3. Between the Shades of Gray by Ruta Septys (Could also be historical fiction)
  4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass (apparently this is not her best work and I should keep on reading this series. Mass has potential as a writer so lets find out)
  5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (this book was written for teenage gamers and their parents. I think if you lives trough the eighties you could appreciate all the references)

Poetry 

  1. Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie by Henry Longfellow

Drama or play

  1. The Importance of Being Ernest by Oscar Wilde (this was also part of my self-education book list )

Modern Classic

  1. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

True Crime : This was a completely new to me category and I want to read more of the genre. Feel free to give any suggestion

  1. The Monster of Florence by Douglas Preston (some people as twisted! but their lives are interesting to read about)

History

  1. The History of the Medieval World: From the Conversion of Constantine to the First Crusade by Susan Wise Bauer ( I loved Bauer’s style and will be reading more of her work in the future. This book too was on my self-education book list )

 

What about you, what is a genre you have been intimidated to read from?

One thought on “Mama’s Corner : What I read in the month of August

Leave a Reply

