What I Read This Summer

Ah summer… It’s the perfect time to find a shady spot and catch up on some reading while the children play (although I have often been met with interruptions during these reading times). I have especially enjoyed reading before bed and during the children’s quiet time after lunch. I am not a voracious reader and I do not read very quickly, but I do enjoy a good book. So here are the books that I read this summer:

img_8938

After reading Kate Morton for the 1st time in the spring, I wanted to check out her other books and so I enjoyed reading The Distant Hours and The House at Riverton. My favourite book from her though is the first one that I read, The Secret Keeper. I like her writing style and these are good mystery-style novels.

I can’t believe that I had never read any Jane Austen books before this summer (especially since I have a concentration in English Literature). I thoroughly enjoyed Pride & Prejudice; and what a beautiful old copy I had sitting on my bookshelf for so long. Take a look at the artwork inside.

pride

This was really an enjoyable read for me and I am looking forward to reading more of Jane Austen’s novels in the future.

For the Children’s Sake by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay… What a wonderful book! This is a must-read for anyone who is interested in learning more about  Charlotte Mason’s thoughts and methods. I found this book very encouraging and it was the perfect read just before a new homeschool year. I highly recommend it…actually I have recommended it to my husband to read. I feel this book would help him to understand (and help out in) the educational philosophy that I am implementing in our home.

 

img_8937

Here are a few other books that I have been reading over the summer that I have not completed. Surprise the World by Michael Frost is a great & practical little book on how to live missionally. We are going through it as a church right now and it is very good.

I am slowly going through Set Apart Motherhood by Leslie Ludy. I have really liked Leslie Ludy ever since I read Authentic Beauty back in 2005. This is another short book full of encouragement for Christian mothers. She also has a website by the same name that you can check out here.

Mother & Daughter team Sally & Sarah Clarkson wrote a book that came out this year called The LifeGiving Home. I am loving it! I especially appreciate Sarah’s writing style and both of them are full of practical advice & biblical wisdom to share. Plus, Sally has a lovely podcast that goes well with the book called At Home with Sally that you can find here.

Finally, A Charlotte Mason Companion by Karen Andreola. This is a book that I am savouring. I read a section here and there and highlight parts that I want to remember well. Karen has a gentle way of writing and I am really enjoying this practical book.

 

So there it is! What I have been reading in the last couple months. I would love to hear what you have been enjoying reading this summer. Leave us a comment and let us know.

One thought on “What I Read This Summer

Leave a Reply

